Community Advisory Council Gains Three New Members


Missouri Foundation for Health is proud to introduce the three newest members of its Community Advisory Council (CAC), Miranda Lewis, Wilma Schmitz, and Heather Zoromski. All three hail from different regions in Missouri, and each will offer her own unique expertise and insight to this important group. Their participation helps give the Foundation greater community insight into some of the most pressing health issues facing the state.

The 13-member CAC serves as a liaison between Missouri’s communities and the Foundation’s Board of Directors. The Council members help ensure the Foundation’s Board has a deeper understanding of how its grants are impacting communities and what health concerns need to be addressed. The CAC also oversees the recruitment of highly qualified candidates interested in serving on the Board of Directors.

Miranda Lewis CAC webMiranda Lewis is the director of development at Mercy Health Foundation Joplin. She has been with Mercy, formerly St. John’s Regional Center, since 2007 and served as spokesperson following an EF5 tornado that destroyed the hospital. Lewis earned a Bachelor of Science degree in communication studies and a master’s degree in organizational leadership, both from Evangel University in Springfield, Missouri. She currently serves on Joplin City Council and is the president-elect for Lafayette House, a domestic violence and substance abuse shelter for women.

“I could not be more honored to be part of the CAC. This is a meaningful opportunity to put my experience and passion for justice in health care to work and create positive change,” said Lewis. “I look forward to working among such an esteemed group of individuals who share a passion for improving the health of our collective communities.”

Schmitz Wilma CAC webWilma Saunders Schmitz is the owner of Aging Concerns, an aging life care/geriatric-care management and consulting company in St. Louis, Missouri. She works as an advisor and advocate for older individuals and family caregivers, emphasizing quality care by utilizing a “person-centered” and “strength-based” philosophy. Schmitz obtained her Master of Arts degree in gerontology from Lindenwood College in St. Charles, Missouri. She served as an adjunct professor at the University of Missouri Gerontology Program and Human Services adjunct faculty at Southwestern Illinois Community College. She also serves on the Board of Directors of the Family Care Health Centers in St. Louis and is the co-chair for the National Association of Community Health Centers’ Elderly Issues committee.

Heather Zoromski CAC webHeather Zoromski is the grants administrator of Skaggs Foundation, which supports community initiatives that improve health and wellness in Stone and Taney Counties. She is responsible for securing grant funding for Skaggs Foundation and Cox Medical Center Branson, facilitating the Skaggs Legacy Endowment grantmaking program, and working closely with partner agencies and local coalitions on assessment and program development. Previously, she served as executive director of Children’s Miracle Network Hospitals of CoxHealth, where she was responsible for raising funds to support special pediatric medical needs. She holds a Bachelor of Science degree in child and family development, and a master’s degree in public health, both from Missouri State University. She serves on the boards of the Tri-Lakes United Way and the Kyle Bruton Foundation.

Current CAC members Deborah Kiel and Loretta Prater were both elected for another three-year term, with Kiel chosen to serve as chair. Prater will assume the role of vice chair.

The CAC begins its new session on July 1, 2016. The Council is currently accepting applications for the Foundation’s 2017 Board of Directors. Interested applicants should visit for more information.