Missouri Foundation for Health Welcomes New, Returning Board Members



Media contact:
Courtney Stewart
Missouri Foundation for Health
(314) 345-5505

ST. LOUIS, MO (January 17, 2023) Missouri Foundation for Health welcomes six new board members from across the state. The new directors will bring fresh perspectives and diverse insights to the group, which plays a critical role in the Foundation’s work.New board members Todd Ahrens, Alex Garza, Stephen Lewis

New board members Nalini Mahadevan, Francine Pratt, Craig Stevenson

The Board’s overarching charge is to focus on governance, while ensuring that MFH’s resources are deployed in ways that benefit and achieve the Foundation’s mission of eliminating the underlying causes of health inequities, transforming systems, and enabling individuals and communities to thrive. The group also works to confirm that all decisions made are consistent with the Foundation’s core values.

    • Attorney Todd Ahrens, President and CEO, Hannibal Regional Healthcare System
    • Dr. Alex Garza, Chief Community Health Officer, SSM Health
    • Stephen H. Lewis, Vice President and National Built Environment Practice Leader, Segal Company
    • Nalini Mahadevan, Principal Attorney, MLO Law LLC
    • Francine Pratt, Prosper Springfield Director, Community Partnership of the Ozarks
    • Craig Stevenson, Stakeholder Engagement Manager, Home State Health

Current board members Vetta Sanders Thompson (St. Louis) and Brian Kinkade (Columbia) were re-elected for one-year terms.

In addition to a commitment to the organization’s mission, the Foundation seeks board members who represent the gender, racial, cultural, geographic, and ethnic diversity of its service region. Prospective members were encouraged to apply if they possessed specific expertise – a rural perspective, experience with community engagement, or an understanding of how public policy is a catalyst for systems change that builds health equity.

“I continue to be grateful for the knowledge and dedication of our new and continuing board members,” said Dr. Dwayne Proctor, MFH President, and CEO. “Their work and lived experience buttress our efforts to achieve health equity across Missouri.”

Donna Checkett (Columbia) was re-elected as Board Chair for a second consecutive term. Brian Kinkade will serve as Vice Chair and Alan Barnette (Cape Girardeau) is the new Treasurer. Sarah Sellers, Corporate Secretary for MFH, will also fill the role of Board Secretary.

View a full list of board members and their bios.