Foundation Welcomes New and Returning Members of Its Board of Directors


Contact: Courtney Z. Stewart
Missouri Foundation for Health
(314) 345-5505

Foundation Welcomes New and Returning Members of Its Board of Directors

ST. LOUIS, MO (January 13, 2021) – Missouri Foundation for Health, today, announced the addition of four new members to its Board of Directors. The new members’ terms went into effect at the start of this year.

  • Susan E. Block (St. Louis), Attorney at Paule, Camazine & Blumenthal
  • Darrel J. Pfeifauf (St. Louis), Principal and Portfolio Manager at Mercer Investments
  • Sheniece Smith (Hannibal), Vice President, General Counsel at Hannibal Regional Healthcare System
  • Aimee Wehmeier (St. Louis), President of Paraquad

In addition, two incumbent members of the Board were reelected for an additional term – Brooks Miller (Springfield) and Ryan Rippel (St. Louis).

The Board of Directors plays an instrumental role in the Foundation’s work. The group’s overarching obligation is to ensure that MFH’s resources are deployed in ways that benefit and achieve the Foundation’s mission – to eliminate the underlying causes of health inequities, transform systems, and enable individuals and communities to thrive. The group also works to confirm that all decisions made are consistent with the Foundation’s core values. Members collectively assist in setting the organization’s agenda and priorities and serve as stewards of MFH’s financial assets.

In addition to a commitment to the organization’s mission, the Foundation seeks out Board members that represent the gender, racial, cultural, geographic, and ethnic diversity of the region. Members are also encouraged to have a background in one or more of the following – corporate leadership, institutional investment, the health insurance industry, criminal justice, and/or lived experience regarding how inequities and health disparities can limit the ability for individuals and communities to prosper.

The new year also brought changes to the Board’s Executive Committee. Brooks Miller is now the chairperson, Donna Checkett is vice chairperson, Vetta Sanders Thompson is secretary, Alan Barnette is treasurer, and Bethany Johnson-Javois is member-at-large. Additionally, the Foundation’s Community Advisory Council elected Terry Combs as its chairperson. In this position, Combs will serve as an ex-officio member of the Board.

Click here view a full list of Board members and their bios.