Board of Directors

Our Board plays an instrumental role in the work that we do. Members collectively assist in setting the Foundation’s agenda and priorities and serve as stewards of our financial assets. We strive to have our Board represent the gender, racial, cultural, geographic, and ethnic diversity of our region.

Alan Barnette, MD

Board Treasurer & Finance Committee Chair, Cape Girardeau, Missouri, Term: 2022-24

Alex Garza, MD

St. Louis, Missouri, Term: 2023-25

Ashanti Tate, MA, MSW

Springfield, Missouri, Term: 2022-24

Brian D. Kinkade, MA

Board Vice Chair & Governance Committee Chair, Columbia, Missouri, Term: 2023

Craig Stevenson

Hallsville, Missouri, Term: 2023-25

Donna Checkett, MPA, MSW

Board Chair, Columbia, Missouri, Term: 2022-24
Portrait of Dr. Dwayne Proctor wearing a suit

Dwayne Proctor, PhD


Estrella Carmona, MA

Perryville, Missouri, Term: 2022-23

Francine Pratt

Springfield, Missouri, Term: 2023-25

Kyler James Sherman-Wilkins, PHD

Springfield, Missouri, Term: 2022-24

Nalini Mahadevan

St. Louis, Missouri, Term: 2023-25

Stephen H. Lewis

St. Louis, Missouri, Term: 2023-25

Todd Ahrens, JD

Hannibal, Missouri, Term 2023-24

Vetta Sanders Thompson, PHD

Programmatic Strategy Committee Chair, St. Louis, Missouri, Term: 2023