Dr. Corinne Walentik Leadership in Health Award

Walentik Leadership in Health Award

Dr. Corinne Walentik was a powerful advocate who helped shape the Foundation in its early days and whose work included saving the lives of countless infants as a doctor in the neonatal intensive care unit. We pay tribute to her commitment to serving vulnerable groups, especially children, through our Dr. Corinne Walentik Leadership in Health award. The honor is presented annually to a health leader in Missouri who exemplifies the passion, dedication, and energy that she brought to her work.

About Dr. Walentik

Corinne Walentik was a professor of pediatrics in the Division of Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine at Saint Louis University and physician executive for Managed Care and Public Policy at SSM Cardinal Glennon Children’s Medical Center. Known as a champion for children, Dr. Walentik was passionate about improving children’s health care and public health and received significant local, regional, and national recognition for her tireless efforts. Dr. Walentik served on MFH’s Community Advisory Council for six years before joining the Board of Directors in 2007. She passed away in 2012.

About the Award

The recipient receives a personal award of $2,500, and a $25,000 award is made to an 501(c)(3) charitable organization of the recipient’s choosing. The formal presentation of the award takes place at the Foundation’s Annual Dinner in St. Louis each December.
Nominations for the award traditionally begin each April and last through July.


2022: Dr. Ashlea Cardin, Mercy Kids Hospital in Springfield,  *Amish Outreach Medical Clinic

2021: Dr. Sarah Garwood, The SPOT at Jennings

2020: Dr. Kathy Fenger, LOGOS School

2019: Dr. Nick Holekamp, Ranken Jordan Pediatric Bridge Hospital

2018: Okunsola M. Amadou, Jamaa Birth Village

2017: DiAnne Mueller, Saint Louis Crisis Nursery

2016: Dr. Jason Purnell, Health Equity Works,  *Sarah & Arteria King Memorial Scholarship

2015: Sister Anne Francioni, Whole Kids Outreach

2014: Dr. Katie Plax, The SPOT

2013: Dr. Corrine Walentik, *Nurses for Newborns (Posthumous Award)

*Honorees gave the monetary award to their own nonprofit organizations, unless otherwise specified.